A Brooklyner in New York

Sometimes a tweeter will capture your attention through their economic poetry, and other times one will be riveted by their very essence – one of not only playful artfulness, but also of human struggle and survival. BklynMike shares a bit of his background and work here:

BS: Your twitter handle references Brooklyn, but do you live/work in Brooklyn or is it more of a state of mind for you?

BM: -born and still in Brooklyn ( second generation )

Chd7Qq7WMAATXHE

BS:  What is your arts background if any?

BK: – art school drop out. Do a fruit bowl they said. I threw my half finished portfolio in their homogeneous face.

BS: What are your favourite mediums to work in?

BK: – android phone photography, collage, pen + markers.

CiWjfdQUYAEw-yB

BS:  Do you use art primarily as therapy or do you show in galleries?

BK: – collage therapy. keeps me calm and from spontaneously combusting.

BS:  You recently had a health scare – is your artwork helping you in your overall recovery?

BK: My art is for my own healing. In February, I collapsed with a fever. Two weeks later I woke up temporarily paralyzed from the waist down. I’m grateful to be learning to walk again, currently at a one year old’s level.

Ch-DgUVXIAAs3_8

BS: Wishing you all the best in your healing, and thank you for taking the time to share a bit of your story, Mike:)

You can follow Mike on twitter and take a look through his media gallery for other examples of his work.

