Captain Sidcup To The Rescue

Captain Sidcup is a chap I’d been following on twitter for some time, mainly because I liked his handle, and we seemed to be following some of the same people in the London street arts scene. Turns out he’s also a fantastic photographer with the less-than-comic book name of Jeremy Moseley

Chn6paDWkAA7swi.jpg

BS: How did your moniker ‘Captain Sidcup’ come about, and what are some of your fave comics?

CS: I’m a huge fan of comic books, especially Marvel comics. That’s where my twitter name originates from: Captain (as in Captain America), and Sidcup being my home town in Kent, England – although I wouldn’t say Captain America is my favourite comic book, as SpiderMan has that honour. I’ve been an avid collector for a while now, and my SpiderMan collection is my most prized of comic books.

BS: Tell me a bit about your arts background and the work you’re doing.

CS: I’ve no formal art background at all. I was given a camera by a teacher at school as my lack of artistic talent stopped me from contributing in art classes. She told me that if I couldn’t draw, sculpt etc., then I could use the camera to document the other pupils’ progress – and at that point my love of photography was born.

CjYXmxNWsAAxrd1

I don’t consider photography as an art form (although I appreciate why others do). I just think of it as a tool to document a specific moment in time. I’ve used my photographs to create artwork in the past, normally using images to either paste up myself or allowing other (real) artists to create stencils etc. from my work. I find the latter the most satisfying.

I – and most others – tend to label what I do as “street photography” as most of it is done on the street, but I’m more comfortable with being called “a photographer”, as simply, that’s what I do.

I live close to London so I tend to photograph the artists who mainly use the Shoreditch and Brick Lane areas of the capital for their work, although through my involvement with SSOSVA I’ve been able to photograph all over the UK.

BS: Describe what the mysterious “SSOSVA” is.

CS: The Secret Society of Super Villain Artists is an art collective set up purely to bring artists together from all over the world. There are no rules other than using art to promote good causes and well-being amongst artists. We arrange shows and sell merchandise with large chunks of profit being donated to charitable causes etc.

ChnIksTWwAA5Zq8

BS: Would you say generally the artists in the street scene are fairly supportive of one another?

CS: As a result of the good work we do there are no rivalries that I’m aware of – just a good community spirit, as we all consider ourselves as one. The days of Robbo versus Banksy are behind us now in London, and for the moment at least we have peace amongst the street art community.

BS: What else have you got coming up on the horizon?

CS: I’m involved in The Black Book Project, a community set up by myself and a few others to promote local artists via shows which will eventually lead to a book. Also Urban Graffiti Artists UK is a small start up company that I’m helping out to get artists paid work.

BS: Excellent stuff, Captain – wishing you the very best with all your projects, and thanks for taking time out to chat:)

