The HORROR! A brief conversation with Jay Glen

The Horror!

C78rMu1WkAIsGj8

I mean, if horror scares you anymore.
Fake news and all things considered.

Mary Shelley was supposedly 18 when she wrote Frankenstein.
Lewis Carroll was not the real name of the author of Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland.

But whatever, man.

Art is sometimes horrifying, and gorgeous, and that’s where Jay Glen comes in.

He might not consider himself a ‘professional’ artist, but his work WORKS on several layers, and that’s why I love it. Here’s a brief chat with this talented and humble creator:

C8amv_uWAAAqBw7

BS: How did you get interested in art?

JG: I love art but all I know about I was taught by a friend! I did go to art school but I dropped out after one term due to poverty.

BS: How old were you when you began to feel inspired by ‘horror’? Do you have any fave novels and the like you tend to look to for inspiration?

JG: I’ve always been interested in art, I was drawing as soon as I could lift a pencil. I come from a single-parent family and luckily, my Ma always encouraged me to draw, paint and express myself creatively from a young age. I remember she had a copy of ‘Goblin Market’ by Christina Rossetti which was illustrated with etchings by Martin Ware which I was fascinated by, it was just beautiful to me. As a child I had to spend a few extended periods in hospital and I devoured gothic horror books, in fact Frankenstein is the first book I ever bought with my own money. I read everything in that genre I could get my hands on, then in my early teens I discovered H.R Giger, Hieronymus Bosch, the covers of numerous death metal albums, and that’s pretty much where my dubious ‘style’ comes from.

BS: Do you have any advice for fellow creators?

JG: Oh man. I’ll be honest B, I’d be embarrassed to give anyone advice because I don’t see myself as an artist, not really. I’m just a dude who has a bit of a fuck-around with things when he’s sat on his arse in front of the telly at night, you know? Not like a proper artist at all. If anything, I’d say do what you enjoy because otherwise, what’s the point? I know that’s not very insightful but it’s all I got!

BS: Haha, that’s perfectly gold. Tell me a bit about the work you’re currently exhibiting.

JG: I don’t exhibit really, I’ve a couple of pieces in a small sci-fi show at the moment but it’s a very small thing. I’m not a professional, this is just something I do when I’m not at work, which is most of the time. It’s on for another week or so to promote the sci-fi con here in Scarborough where I live.

C8g-yx8XkAIlRB1
*all images courtesy Jay Glen.

Jay’s work is part of the Sci-Fi Scarborough exhibition at Scarborough Museums Trust, on until the 17th. Take a look. Give a follow. Buy his work if you can!

